From WILL - WILL Highlights -

Joshua Bell plays Bernstein’s Serenade

7 pm Thursday, March 13, on WILL-FM: He performs with The New York Philharmonic.

Joshua Bell

Joshua Bell Bill Phelps

Joshua Bell is the violin soloist in Leonard Bernstein’s “Serenade” (after Plato’s ‘Symposium’) with the New York Philharmonic. Music director Alan Gilbert conducts. Also on the program the world premiere of Christopher Rouse’s Prospero’s Rooms.

Alan Gilbert: conductor; *Joshua Bell, violin

ELGAR: "Nimrod" Variation IX from Enigma Variations
Christopher ROUSE (b. 1949): Prospero's Rooms (World Premiere, New York Philharmonic Commission)
*BERNSTEIN: Serenade (after Plato's Symposium)
IVES: Symphony No. 4

[NYP fill: MOZART: Symphony No. 36, Linz (NYP/Sir Colin Davis)]