Salonen Conducts Sibelius: Tonight’s Chicago Symphony Orchestra Broadcast

August 19, 2014

Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on WILL FM-90.9, Esa-Pekka Salonen guest conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in Sibelius’ “Four Legends of the Kalevala” and the “Seventh Symphony”. Also on the program: Anna Clyne’s <<rewind>>, Bartok’s “Suite from ‘The Miraculous Mandarin’” and Mozart’s K.546 Adagio and Fugue.

Tuesday August 19:  Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO) (#14-33)

Salonen conducts Sibelius

Anna Clyne (b. 1980, London):   <<rewind>>
Bartók:   Suite from The Miraculous Mandarin 
Sibelius:  Four Legends from the Kalevala
Sibelius: Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 105
Mozart:  Adagio and Fugue in C Minor, K. 546

Classical 24 Music Playlist

WILL Highlights


Discussing wacky sports injuries, commissioner hate, and a new ownership model created by the Utah Jazz

Black Science Matters logo feature u of i alma mater statue


A short film series examining the severe underrepresentation of African-Americans in the sciences.