Gil Shaham Plays the Brahms’ Violin Concerto in San Francisco

October 02, 2013

Tonight at 7:00 on WILL-FM it’s the Evening Concert.  Violinist Gil Shaham is the soloist in Brahms’ “Violin Concerto” with the San Francisco Symphony.  Michael Tilson Thomas conducts.  Also on the program Wagner’s “Prelude to Act 3 of ‘Lohengrin’” and the orchestrated “Brahms G Minor Piano Quartet”. 

San Francisco Symphony (#13-09)

Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor; *Gil Shaham, violin

WAGNER: Prelude to Act III of Lohengrin

*BRAHMS: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op.77

BRAHMS orch. SCHOENBERG: Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor, Op.25

[SFS Encore: BRAHMS: Variations on a Theme by Haydn (Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor)]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

WILL Highlights

Illinois Public Media logo

WILL-AM at low power on Wednesday

From 9 am to about 3 pm Wednesday, Jan. 28, WILL-AM will be operating at low power while necessary repairs are made to tower lights.

American Experience: Edison

8 pm Tuesday, Jan. 27, on WILL-TV: The life of the man remembered as the genius who created the modern world.