Jane Glover Conducts the San Francisco Symphony: Bach Brandenburg Concertos Numbers 1, 4 and 5

December 18, 2013

Tonight at 7:00 on WILL-FM it’s “The Evening Concert’.  Jane Glover leads the San Francisco Symphony in an all Baroque music concert featuring principal players from the orchestra as soloists in Bach’s “Brandenburg Concertos” numbers one, four and five. Also on the program: Handel’s 2nd “Water Music” suite.

San Francisco Symphony (#13-26) (last in series)

Jane Glover, conductor; soloists in “Brandenburgs”: Nadya Tichman, violin; Jonathan Vinocour, viola; Yun Jie Liu, viola; Barbara Bogatin, viola da gamba; Marie Dalby Szuts, viola da gamba; Robin McKee, flute; Jonathan D. Fischer, oboe; John Thiessen, trumpet

BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F Major, BWV 1046

BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G Major, BWV 1049

HANDEL: Water Music Suite No. 2 in D Major

BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D Major, BWV 1050

[SFS Encore: BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 4 in B-Flat Major, Op. 60 (SFS/Michael Tilson Thomas)]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

WILL Highlights

Vote for WILL in 2016

Make the choice to support great public media during the Fall Fundraising Campaign

The Bandwagon

Football fatigue anyone? Sarah and Caleb Curtiss join this week’s conversation.