Joshua Bell plays Glazunov’s “Violin Concerto” in San Francisco

September 11, 2013

Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert Joshua Bell is the violin soloist in Glazunov's "Violin Concerto in A Minor" with the San Francisco Symphony.  Vasily Petrenko guest conducts.  Also on the program Shostakovich's "Festive Overture",  Tchaikovsky's "Meditation" and Elgar's "1st Symphony". 

San Francisco Symphony (New Season) (#13-03)
Vasily Petrenko, cond.;  *Joshua Bell, violin
SHOSTAKOVICH: Festive Overture, Opus 96
*TCHAIKOVSKY/arr. GLAZUNOV: Méditation from Souvenir d’un lieu cher, Op. 42, No.1
*GLAZUNOV: Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op. 82
ELGAR: Symphony No. 1 in A-Flat Major, Op. 55
[SFS Encore: DUKAS: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor)]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

WILL Highlights

The Bandwagon

Cubs relief pitcher Spencer Patton joins this week’s conversation.

Vote for WILL in 2016

Make the choice to support great public media during the Fall Fundraising Campaign