Marc-Andre Hamelin plays Shostakovich’s 1st Piano Concerto

November 05, 2013

Tonight at 7:00 on WILL FM…’s “The Evening Concert”.

Marc-Andre Hamelin is the soloist in Shostakovich’s 1st Piano Concerto with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Kirill Petrenko guest conducts. Also on the program, Shostakovich’s 1st Symphony and Rachmaninoff’s 3rd Symphony.

Chicago Symphony Orchestra (#13-34)

Kirill Petrenko, cond.; *Marc-Andre Hamelin, piano and Christopher Martin, trumpet

MUSSORGSKY: Dawn on the Moscow River and Dance of the Persian Maidens from Khovanshchina

*SHOSTAKOVICH: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 35

RACHMANINOFF: Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 44

[CSO fill: SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 10 (Andrey Boryeko, conductor)

Classical 24 Music Playlist

WILL Highlights

The Bandwagon

Cubs relief pitcher Spencer Patton joins this week’s conversation.

Vote for WILL in 2016

Make the choice to support great public media during the Fall Fundraising Campaign