The 21st Show

How the Big Ten’s expansion impacts Illinois teams

State Farm Center on the University of Illinois campus.

State Farm Center on the University of Illinois campus. Illinois Public Media

The Big Ten, is a college athletic conference made of 14 universities mostly located in the midwest, but stretches from the east coast at Rutgers University in New Jersey, and westward to the University of Nebraska in Lincoln.

Its Illinois schools are Northwestern University and the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, where Illinois Public Media is located.

The Big Ten announced recently announced the additions of the University of California Los Angeles and the University of Southern California, both located in the Los Angeles metropolitan area, in 2024.

How will this impact everything from recruitment to endorsement deals to mens versus womens sports? We asked a panel of three guests.



Matt Brown

Publisher, Extra Points Newsletter


Mariah Guzman

National News Desk Writer, 24/7 Sports/CBS Sports


David Palmer

Played for University of Iowa Men’s Basketball from 2005-2009; Agency Owner, Country Financial; former IL Cong. District 13 candidate