Decision 2014

Republican Gubernatorial Debate

Public TV and radio stations throughout the state broadcast a live debate with four Republican candidates for Illinois governor—State Sen. Bill Brady, State Sen. Kirk Dillard, businessman Bruce Rauner and State Treasurer Dan Rutherford—on Thursday, January 23rd, 2014. The debate was hosted by four Illinois public broadcasters and the League of Women Voters of Illinois.

The 90-minute debate aired along with post-debate analysis from 7-9 p.m. The debate took place in Peoria at WTVP (Peoria/Bloomington), which sponsored and broadcast the debate along with WILL-TV and WILL-AM-FM (Urbana), WSIU-FM-TV (Carbondale) and WUIS-FM (Springfield).

H. Wayne Wilson, host/producer of WTVP’s At Issue, moderated with questioning by a panel of four journalists: Jim Meadows, senior reporter and host of Focus from Illinois Public Media; Jak Tichenor, host of Illinois Lawmakers, from WSIU; Amanda Vinicky, statehouse bureau chief from WUIS; and Chacour Koop, a student from the public affairs reporting program at University of Illinois, Springfield. Koop is an intern for the Associated Press.