Evening Concert

All-Percussion Works on Fiesta!


Join us tonight for The Evening Concert with back-to-back episodes of “Fiesta! with Elbio Barilari”.  At 7:00 it’s “Music for Percussion” with music by Roldan, Ginastera, and guest composer Guillermo Gregorio and at 8:00 “Spanish Guitar Music”, with music by Albeniz, Torroba and others.

Fiesta! with Elbio Barilari: Music for Percussion with guest composer Guillermo Gregorio
Ritmicas 5 and 6, by Cuban composer Amadeo Roldan were the first classical pieces ever composed exclusively for percussion (even before Varese’s Ionisation). Mexican composer Carlos Chavez also contributed his Toccata to the early repertoire for this type of ensemble. Alberto Ginastera wrote the magnificent Cantata para la America Magica for soprano and percussion. Finally. Guest composer Guillermo Gregorio introduces his brand new work.

Amadeo ROLDAN: Ritmicas 5  &  6; (Tambuco Percussion Ensemble/Enrique  Arturo Diemecke)
Carlos CHAVEZ: Toccata for Percussion Instruments; &  Tambuco (Panamerican Chamber Players/Eduardo Mata – Dorian 90215)
GINASTERA: Cantata Para La America Magica: I. & II.  (Patrice Michaels Bedi, soprano/Lawrence University Percussion  Ensemble/Dane Maxim Richeson)
Guillermo GREGORIO: Construction in Four Parts (Makrokosmos Quartet – hatART Records)

Fiesta! with Elbio Barilari: Spanish Guitar Music
A panoramic view of the Spanish repertoire for the guitar from the baroque to the 21st century,
featuring some of the most formidable virtuosi of the instrument. Music Sor, Albeniz, Granados,
Tarrega, Rodrigo and other specialists in the instrument.

ALBENIZ: Iberia, Book 3: I. El Albaicin, excerpt (Brazilian Guitar Quartet)
LUYS DE NARVAEZ: Baxa de contrapunto; Tres differencias sobre Guardame las vacas; Fantasia XII; (Juan Carlos Rivera, vihuela)
AGUADO: Introduction and Rondo, op.2 in D minor. (Eduardo Fernandez, guitar)
ALBENIZ: Evocacion (Brazilian Guitar Quartet)
TORROBA: Oliveras (Abel Calevaro, gtr.)
BACARISSE: Concertino para guitarra y orquestra en la menor, op.72 (Narciso Yepes, gtr.; Royal Philharmonic Orchestra/Rolando Ossad)