Evening Concert

The New York Philharmonic This Week

Lars Vogt Plays Beethoven's "1st Piano Concerto"

Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 1, Plus Börtz and Debussy 

The program opens with the concert overture Parados by Swedish composer Daniel Börtz, exploring his fascination with Greek drama. We then hear a performance of Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 1 with Lars Vogt as the soloist, continuing with Claude Debussy’s Images for orchestra, a set of musical postcards drawn from the national music of Spain, Italy, and England. This program is dedicated to the memory of Lars Vogt, who passed away just shy of his 52nd birthday in September, 2022.

CONDUCTOR: Alan Gilbert SOLOIST: Lars Vogt, piano
BÖRTZ, Daniel: Parados
BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 1
DEBUSSY: Images for Orchestra

[NYP fill: Tchaikovsky Romeo and Juliet (Fantasy Overture); New York Philharmonic/Alan Gilbert]