Evening Concert

Chamber Music Society of Lincon Center & Fiesta! with Elbio Barilari

Saint-Saens' "1st Piano Trio", then music by Leo Brouwer

Sunday, September 4, 7:00 Chamber Mus. Soc. of Lincoln Center (CMS 22-50)

Foreign Flavors

Rubinstein: “Romance” from Soirées à Saint-Petersbourg for Violin and Piano, Op. 44, No. 1

Chad Hoopes, Violin; Gilbert Kalish, Piano

Falla: Suite populaire espagnole for Violin and Piano; Chad Hoopes, Violin; Juho Pohjonen, Piano

Chausson: Chanson perpétuelle for Soprano and Piano Quintet, Op. 37

Joélle Harvey, Soprano; Gilbert Kalish, Piano; Francisco Fullana, Violin; Ani Kavafian, Violin II; Che-Yen Chen, Viola; Dmitri Atapine, Cello

Saint-Saëns: Piano Trio No. 1 in F major, Op. 18; Wu Han, Piano.; Paul Huang, Violin; Clive Greensmith, Cello


Sunday, September 4, 8:00 pm: Fiesta! With Elbio Barilari (FST 22-23)

Leo Brouwer Revisited

Cuban composer Leo Brouwer has sparked single-handedly a renaissance of classical guitar and its repertoire. In this program, we will have another look into Brouwer’s past 50 years of music creation, including his monumental “Concerto de Benicassim” for guitar and orchestra. All selections composed by Leo Brouwer

Estudios Sencillos 1. Movido. Thibault Cauvin, guitar

Estudios Sencillos 2. Coral, Lento, 3. Rapido, 4. Comodo. Thibault Cauvin, guitar

La gran sarabanda. Bokyung Byun, guitar

Canción de Cuna. John-Henry Crawford, cello; Jiji, guitar

Guitar Concerto No. 9 "Concierto de Benicàssim". Miguel Trápaga, guitar; Real Filharmonía de Galicia; Óliver Díaz, conductor
Danza del altiplano, from Three Latin American Pieces (Excerpt) Mabel Millán, guitar