Evening Concert

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

Shostakovich'1 1st Symphony

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the “Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra”. You’ll hear Shostakovich’s “1st Symphony” and Esa-Pekka Salonen’s “Helix”. Juraj Valcuha guest conducts. Also on the program Sibelius’ “Violin Concerto” with soloist Augustin Hadelich.

Thursday, January 19: Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra (PSO 22-23_15)

Shostakovich’s 1st Symphony

Juraj Valcuha, conductor

Jean Sibelius’ Violin Concerto; Augustine Hadelich, violin

[Encore: “Por una Cabeza” by Carlos Gardel] Augustine Hadelich, violin

[PSO fill: “The Moldau” from Bedrich Smetana’s “Ma Vlast;” Juraj Valcuha, conductor]

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 1

[PSO fill: Antonin Dvorak’s Slavonic Dance No. 2 in E minor, Op. 72; Juraj Valcuha, conductor]

Esa-Pekka Salonen’s “Helix”