Evening Concert

Orchestras of the European Broadcasting Union

London Philharmonic Orchestra

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the second program in a new series: “Orchestras from the European Broadcasting Union”. Simon Rattle leads the London Philharmonic in Schumann’s “2nd Symphony”. Also on the program Walker’s “Lilacs” with vocal soloist Nicole Cabell.

Wednesday, January 11: Orchestras from the European Broadcast Union (EBU 22-02) [NEW SERIES]

The London Symphony Orchestra: Sir Simon Rattle: Schumann’s “2nd Symphony”

ORCHESTRA: London Symphony Orchestra | CONDUCTOR: Simon Rattle | *SOLOIST: Nicole Cabell, soprano

Dvoƙák: American Suite, op. 98b

Walker: Lilacs for voice and orchestra*

Montsalvatge: Canción de cuna para dormir un negrito, No. 4 from 'Cinco Canciones Negras'*

Schumann: Symphony No. 2 in C, op. 61

[EBU fill: Bartók Piano Concerto No. 3 in E Major, SZ. 119, BB 127; LSO/Boulez/Hélène Grimaud (and)

Berlioz: Queen Mab Scherzo from "Roméo et Juliette," Op. 17; LSO/Sir Colin Davis]