Evening Concert

Jaap Van Zweden and Alisa Weilerstein: Prokofiev and Britten on the Evening Concert


Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on WILL-FM 90.9 Alisa Weilerstein is the cellist in Prokofiev’s “Symphony-Concerto” with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra led by guest conductor Jaap van Zweden. Also on the program: Britten’s “Suite on English Folk Tunes”, and the “Four Sea Interludes from ‘Peter Grimes’. 

Tuesday October 20: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 15-42)

Van Zweden and Weilerstein: Shostakovich and Prokofiev

CONDUCTOR: Jaap van Zweden

Prokofiev: Symphony-Concerto for Cello and Orchestra Alisa Weilerstein, cello

Britten: Suite on English Folk Tunes: A time there was…

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 9

Britten: Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia from Peter Grimes