Leonidas Kavakos Plays Berg’s Violin Concerto With The New York Philharmonic

June 12, 2014

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM … it’s “The New York Philharmonic This Week”. Leonidas Kavakos is the soloist in Alban Berg’s lyrical, yet misunderstood “Violin Concerto”, Berg’s last completed score, written in 1935. Bernard Haitink guest conducts. Also on the program, Beethoven’s 3rd Symphony, the “Eroica”.

Thursday June 12:  The New York Philharmonic This Week (#14-36)

Bernard Haitink, conductor; *Leonidas Kavakos, violin

WEBERN: Im Sommerwind

*BERG: Violin Concerto

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 3, Eroica

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights