Evening Concert

Beethoven’s 5th Symphony and 1st Piano Concerto central to tonight’s “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 Serena Wang is the soloist in Beethoven’s “Piano Concerto No. 1” with the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra. Zubin Mehta guest conducts. Also on the program Beethoven’s “5th Symphony” and Leonora Overture No. 3.

Monday January 16: Shanghai Symphony Orchestra (SSO 17-03 of 13) New Series

[First ever broadcast series of a Chinese orchestra to U.S. radio audiences]

AUDIO QUALITY ADVISORY: The concert recordings of a limited number of works in this series contain brief instances of audio distortion.

CONDUCTOR: Zubin Mehta - Beethoven

Beethoven: Leonore Overture No.3, Op.72b

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.1 in C major, Op.15. Serena Wang, piano

Beethoven: Symphony No.5 in C minor, Op.67

Zhu Jian’er: A Wonder of Naxi  (CONDUCTOR: Chen Xieyang)

[SSO fill: Saint-Saens Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso; Julian Rachlin, violin; Shanghai Symphony/Long Yu, conductor]