Evening Concert

Principal Timpanist Paul Yancich Plays Fischer’s Symphony With Eight Obbligato Timpani


Tonight at 7:00 on WILL-FM it’s the Evening Concert. Paul Yancich [yan – chick] is the timpani soloist in Johann Carl Christian Fischer’s “Symphony with Eight Obbligato Timpani”. Ton Koopman conducts. Also on the program: Mozart’s 1st and 17th Symphonies and Haydn’s “Farewell” Symphony.

Cleveland Orchestra (#13-24)

Ton Koopman, conductor; *Paul Yancich, timpani
MOZART: Symphony No. 1 in E-flat Major, K.16
*Johan Carl Christian FISCHER (orig. attrib. to HERTEL) (1733-1800): Symphony with Eight Obbligato Timpani

MOZART: Symphony No. 17 in G, K. 129

REBEL: The Elements: Overture – Chaos

HAYDN: Symphony No. 45 in F Sharp Minor, “Farewell”

[COR fill: BERNSTEIN: Symphony No. 1 “Jeremiah”. Kelly O’Connor, mezzo-soprano; Cleveland Orchestra/Franz Welser-Moest)]