Yo-Yo Ma Plays Tchaikovsky’s “Rococo Variations” with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

January 07, 2015

Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on WILL-FM 90.9 it’s the first of 13 programs from the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. Yo Yo Ma is the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s “Rococo Variations”. Music Director Manfred Honeck conducts.  Also on the program, Tchaikovsky’s Suite from the ballet “Sleeping Beauty”.

Wednesday January 7, 2015:

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra (PSO #14-15_01) (1st in series, of 13)

Once Upon a Time Gala

Manfred Honeck, conductor; *Yo-Yo Ma, cello

RAVEL: Selections from Mother Goose Ballet [Andre Previn, conductor]

SARASATE: Gypsy Airs for Violin and Orchestra (Noah Bendix Balgley, violin)

DVORAK: Carnival Overture

HUMPERDINK: “Dream Pantomime” from Hansel and Gretel

PROKOFIEV: Suite No. 1 from Cinderella

TCHAIKOVSKY: Suite from The Sleeping Beauty

*TCHAIKOVSKY: Variations on a Rococo Theme for Cello and Orchestra

SCHUBERT: “The Litany for the Feast of All Souls”

[PSO fill: R.STRAUSS: excerpt from “Don Juan”. Lorin Maazel, conductor]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights