Evening Concert

Schubert’s “Great” C Major Symphony and Nielsen’s “Clarinet Concerto”


Schubert wrote two symphonies in the key of C Major, a smaller one, and the larger or "Great" as it is described to distinguish it from the other.   Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on WILL-FM 90.9 it’s the San Francisco Symphony. Carey Bell is the soloist in Carl Nielsen’s “Clarinet Concerto”.  Conductor Laureate Herbert Blomstedt conducts. Also on the program Schubert’s “Great” C Major Symphony.

Wednesday July 15: San Francisco Symphony (SFS #15-16)

Herbert Blomstedt, conductor; *Carey Bell, clarinet

*Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto, Opus 57

Schubert: Symphony in C major, D.944, The Great

[SFS fill: Berlioz: Love Scene from Roméo et Juliette, Opus 17 (Michael Tilson Thomas, cond.)]