Evening Concert

Sol Gabetta plays Bloch’s “Schelomo”


Tonight at 7, Sol Gabetta is the cello soloist in Ernest Bloch’s “Schelomo” from a new summer-long series from Deutsche Welle Festival Concerts.  Also on the program, Dvorak’s 8th Symphony and Copland’s “Appalachian Spring.” Leonard Slatkin conducts the German Symphony-Orchestra Berlin.

Deutsche Welle Festival Concerts (Program #12-01) (1/13)
“Heidelberg Spring”:

German Sym.-Orch. Berlin/Leonard Slatkin, cond.; *Sol Gabetta, cello
COPLAND: Appalachian Spring
*BLOCH: Schelomo, Hebrew Rhapsody for Cello and Orchestra
[encore: *VASKS: Book for Cello: Pianissimo]
DVORAK: Symphony No. 8 in G, Op.88
TCHAIKOVSKY: Waltz from “Serenade for Strings”
SCHUBERT arr. MAHLER: Scherzo (3rd mvt.) from String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, “Death & the Maiden