Evening Concert

The St. Lawrence Quartet plays a Haydn String Quartet; there’s also a Piano Trio by Shostakovich


Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on WILL FM-90.9 you’ll hear Bartok’s “Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion” on the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center.  At 8:00 you’ll hear the St. Lawrence Quartet play Haydn’s “String Quartet Op. 20 , No. 3” on the Spoleto Chamber Music Festival.

Sunday August 14: Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 15-46)

20th Century Masters

Bartók: Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion;

Wu Han, Gilbert Kalish, piano; Daniel Druckman, Ayano Kataoka, percussion

Shostakovich: Trio No. 2 in E minor for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 67 Alessio Bax, piano; Ani Kavafian, violin; Jakob Koranyi, cello


Spoleto Chamber Music Festival (SCM 16-07)

Haydn: String Quartet in G Minor, Op. 20, No. 3; St. Lawrence String Quartet

Dowland: “In Darkness Let me Dwell” and “Come Again, Sweet Love Doth Now Invite”;
Tyler Duncan, baritone; Kevin Payne, lute

August Klughardt (1847-1902): 5 Schilflieder for Oboe, Viola, and Piano, Op. 28; 
I.    “Langsam, träumerisch”
II.   “Leidenschaftlich erregt”     III.  “Zart, in ruhiger Bewegung”
James Austin Smith, oboe; Daniel Phillips, viola; Pedja Muzijevic, piano

Osvaldo Golijov (b. 1960): “Omaramor” for Solo Cello (Oswaldo); Alisa Weilerstein, cello