Evening Concert

Faure’s Opus 15 “Piano Quartet No. 1 in C Minor”


Sunday January 17: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 21-17)

Love of Country

Janácek: Sonata for Violin and Piano

Adam Barnett-Hart, Violin; Juho Pohjonen, Piano

Fauré: Quartet No. 1 in C minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 15

Wu Han, Piano; Paul Huang, Violin; Matthew Lipman, Viola; Clive Greensmith, Cello

AND Early Music With Sara Schneider (EMN 20-30)

The Songbooks of Margaret of Austria

The daily life of Duchess Margaret of Austria (1480-1530) was steeped in art and music. She owned an impressive art collection, including The Arnolfini Wedding by Jan van Eyck, and left behind two gorgeously illuminated songbooks containing music by the most celebrated composers of her time. We'll hear selections from these songbooks, by composers like Brumel, de la Rue, and Ockeghem, with performances by the Clerks' Group, Capilla Flamenca, and Encantar.

Johannes Ockeghem: Petite Camusette. Capilla Flamenca

Anon.: Engoulesme. (And) Anon. La basse danse de Cleves. Per-Sonat
Antoine Brumel: Du tout plongiet. The Clerks’ Group

Pierre de la Rue: Myn hert altyt heft verlanghen I. Capilla Flamenca

Anon.: La Margerite Per-Sonat
Josquin des Prez: Proch dolor. (And) Anon.: Roti boully ioyeulx. (And) Antoine Bruhier Vray Dieu qui me confortera. (And) Antoine Brumel: Tous les Regretz. (And) Heinrich Isaac: Et qui la dira dira. Capilla Flamenca

Pierre de la Rue: Autant et emporte le vent. Currende

Pierre de la Rue: Pourquoy non ne veul je morir. Capilla Flamenca

Pierre de la Rue: Tous nobles cuers. Encantar

Jacob Obrecht: Si Sumpsero. Fretwork