Evening Concert

Chamber music by Dohnanyi and Myaskovsky on tonight’s “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 you’ll hear Dohnanyi’s Opus 1 “Piano Quintet” and Myaskovsky’s “13th String Quartet” on “The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center”. At 8:00 you’ll hear music from Sicily and Naples on “Early Music Now”.

Sunday January 19: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 19-17)

Romantic Sonorities

Myaskovsky: Quartet No. 13 in A minor for Strings, Op. 86.  Borodin Quartet

Dohnányi: Quintet No. 1 in C minor for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 1.  

Alessio Bax, Piano; Ida Kavafian, Alexi Kenney, Violins; Yura Lee, Viola; Dmitri Atapine, Cello


Early Music Now with Sara Schneider (EMN 19-30)

Music from Sicily & Naples

This edition of Early Music Now recalls the days when Sicily and Naples were politically united. We'll hear one of the few Requiem Masses to be composed in Sicily during the Baroque era, the Messa di Morti by Bonaventura Rubino, performed by the Namur Chamber Choir. We'll also hear instrumental music from Naples played by Ensemble Aurora, from a 2017 release called The Fiery Genius.

Pietro Marchitelli: Sonata VIII for 2 violins; Ensemble Aurora

Giovanni Carlo Cailò: Sonata for 3 violins and organ; Ensemble Aurora

Bonaventura Rubino: Messa di Morti; Choeur de Chambre de Namur

Nicola Fiorenza: Allegro; Ensemble Aurora