Evening Concert

University of Illinois String-Quartet-in-Residence, Jupiter Quartet, on tonight’s “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 you’ll hear Ruth Crawford Seeger’s “String Quartet as performed by the Jupiter Quartet on “The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center”. The listing differs from the one in Patterns Magazine. At 8:00 it’s “The Legend of Orpheus” on “Early Music Now”. 

Sunday March 10: Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 18-24)

Courageous Women

The program differs from the one listed in Patterns Magazine per the syndicator

Ruth Crawford Seeger: String Quartet Univ. of Illinois String Quartet in Residence: Jupiter String Quartet

Alan Louis Smith Vignettes - Covered Wagon Woman. Stephanie Blythe, mezzo-soprano; Warren Jones, piano; Ani Kavafian, violin; Priscilla Lee, cello


Early Music Now (EMN 18-37)

The Legend of Orpheus

The tragic story of Orpheus made the Furies weep, and touched the heart of the god of the underworld. This week's show tells the tale of Orpheus and Eurydice with music by Pesenti, Cara, and Tromboncino, performed by the Huelgas Ensemble, plus readings from Ovid's Metamorphoses.  

Monteverdi: Prologue from ‘L’Orfeo’ Le Concert des Nations

Bartolomeo Tromboncino: Introdutto Huelgas Ensemble Anon.: Silenzio! Udite! Huelgas Ensemble

Anon.: Udite, selve mie dolce parole Huelgas Ensemble Filippo de Lurano: Intromessa Huelgas Ensemble

Michele Pesenti: O meos longum Huelgas Ensemble Tromboncino: O Regnator di tutte Huelgas Ensemble

Marco Cara: Dialogue between Orpheus and Euridice Huelgas Ensemble

Jóhann Jóhannsson: Orphic Hymn Theatre of Voices Anon. Intromessa: Huelgas Ensemble