Evening Concert

Two chamber works by Richard Strauss and music of Samuel Scheidt on tonight’s “Evening Concert”


] Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 you’ll hear two chamber works by Richard Strauss: the “Piano Quartet in C Minor” and the “String Sextet from ‘Capriccio’” on “The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center”. At 8:00 you’ll hear music by Samul Scheidt on “Early Music Now”.

Sunday March 29: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 20-27)

Richard Strauss: Early and Late

Strauss: Quartet in C minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 13 Wu Qian, Piano; Alexander Sitkovetsky, Violin; Yura Lee, Viola; Gary Hoffman, Cello

Strauss: Sextet for Strings from Capriccio, Op. 85 Erin Keefe, Ani Kavafian, Violin; Yura Lee, Matthew Lipman, Viola; Nicholas Canellakis, David Finckel, Cello


Early Music Now with Sara Schneider (EMN 19-40)

Samuel Scheidt, Survivor

German composer Samuel Scheidt came of age at the dawn of the Baroque era, and rode out the horrors of the Thirty Years' War at home while many of his colleagues went into exile. We'll hear a glorious sacred concerto performed by Musica Fiata and La Capella Ducale, organ music performed by Kevin Komisaruk, and dance sets featuring Hesperion XX.

Samuel Scheidt: Ludi Musici 1-4; Musica Fiata.

Scheidt: Herzlich Lieb hab ich dich, O Herr Kevin Komisaruk, organ

Scheidt: Wies Gott Gefällt; Musica Fiata & La Capella Ducale.

Samuel Scheidt: Also Gehts, also stehts; Kevin Komisaruk, organ.

Samuel Scheidt: Ist nicht Ephraim mein teuer Sohn; Vox Luminis.

Samuel Scheidt: Ludi Musici (selections). Musica Fiata.

Samuel Scheidt: Paduan; Ricercar Consort & La Fenice.