Evening Concert

A Beethoven string quartet, a Schumann piano trio, and music of Praetorius on the “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 the Danish String Quartet plays Beethoven’s “Serioso” string quartet on “The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center”. At 8:00 the series “Early Music Now” returns with a program featuring the music of Hieronymous Praetorius.

Sunday October 6: Chamber Music Society of Lincon Center (CMS 19-02)

Beethoven & Schumann

Beethoven: Quartet in F minor for Strings, Op. 95, “Serioso”

Danish String Quartet

Schumann: Trio No. 2 in F major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 80

Juho Pohjonen, Piano; Arnaud Sussmann, Violin; David Finckel, Cello


Early Music Now (EMN 19-15) (EMN returns with new episodes)

Vespers for St. Michael's Day

This week's program presents stunning polychoral music in honor of the Archangel Michael from 'The Venice of the North': Hamburg, Germany. Weser Renaissance Bremen performs antiphons, psalms, and hymns from the pen of Hieronymus Praetorius, who worked as organist and composer at St. Jacobi.

Hieronymus Praetorius Magnificat Germanice; Friedhelm Flamme, organ

Weser Renaissance Bremen perform the following:

Hieronymus Praetorius Antiphon: Veni Sancte spiritus; Antiphon: Dum praeliatur Michael;

Hieronymus Praetorius Psalm 110; Psalm 113; Hymnus: Christe Sanctorum;

Hieronymus Praetorius Magnificat octavi toni; Postlude on ‘Veni Creator Spiritus;

Hieronymus Praetorius Psalm 117.