Evening Concert

Chamber music of Ravel and music by Palestrina on tonight’s “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on FM 90.9 you’ll hear Ravel’s “Sonata for Violin and Cello on “The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center”.  At 8:00 you’ll hear music by Palestrina including his famous “Pope Marcellus Mass” on “Early Music Now”.

Sunday September 23: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 17-52)

French Explorations 1922‐25

Jongen: Deux pièces en trio for Flute, Cello, and Harp, Op. 80 (1925)

Sooyun Kim, Flute; Nicholas Canellakis, Cello; Bridget Kibbey, Harp

Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Cello (1922) (ROSE)

Alexander Sitkovetsky, Violin; Colin Carr, Cello

Roussel: Serenade for Flute, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Harp, Op. 30 (1925) (ATH)

Sooyun Kim, Flute; Kristin Lee, Violin; Paul Neubauer, Viola; Nicholas Canellakis, Cello; Bridget Kibbey, Harp


Early Music Now with Sara Schneider (EMN 18-13)

Palestrina’s Missa Papae Marcelli

Palestrina's Missa Papae Marcelli was written for the election of Pope Marcellus II, and has gone down in history for its connection to the Council of Trent for though it may have been written several years before the council met. We'll hear a splendid performance of this cornerstone of sacred music featuring New York Polyphony, from their 2016 release Roma Aeterna.

Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina: Tu es Petrus New York Polyphony

Palestrina: Deh, or foss’io col vago della luna Concerto Italiano/Rinaldo Alessandrini

Palestrina: S’il disse mai, ch’io veng’in odio a quella Concerto Italiano/Rinaldo Alessandrini

Palestrina: Dilectus meus mihi Bruce Dickey, cornetto; Mieneke van der Velden, viola da gamba; Kris Verhelst, organ

Palestrina: Sicut cervus/Sitivit anima mea New York Polyphony

Palestrina: Missa Papae Marcelli New York Polyphony

Palestrina: Pulchra es amica mea The Attaignant Consort