The 12 Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic on “Berlin Festival”

September 30, 2013

Tonight at 7:00 on WILL it’s the Evening Concert: “Berlin Festival” from the Deutsche Welle Festival Concerts.  Le Musiche Quartet plays Dvorak’s “String Quartet No. 14 in F major” written in 1893 while he was in America, thus its subtitle, the “American”.  Also on the program, the Twelve Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic play tangos by Astor Piazzola.

Deutsche Welle Festival Concerts (Program #12-25) “Berlin Festival”
*Le Musiche Quartet; ** Emmanuel Pahud, solo flutist; *** 12 Cellists of Berlin Philharmonic
*DVORAK: String Quartet No. 12 in F Major, Op. 96, “American”
*SCHUBERT: String Quartet No. 12 in C Minor, D. 703
**CARTER:  Scrivo in Vento
**VARESE: Density 21.5
***PIAZZOLLA: Libertango;  
***PIAZZOLLA: Adios Nonino
***BACHARACH: South American Getaway;  
***PIAZZOLLA: Fuga y Misterioso
***TAKI: Kojo no tsuki
SCHOENBERG: String Trio, Op. 45 (Kai Vogler, vln.; Ulrich Eichenauer, vlc.; Danjulo Ishizaka, vcl.) 
DVORAK: Cello Concerto in B Minor, Op. 104: 3rd Mvt. (Danjulo Ishizaka, vcl.; Bavarian Radio S.O./Rainer Mulbach)

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights