Evening Concert

This Week: Dec 9 - 13, 2013: on the Evening Concert


This week on the Evening Concert Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg plays Bruch’s 1st Violin Concerto in Milwaukee; Robert Chen plays Barber’s Violin Concerto in Chicago; Jane Glover leads the San Francisco Symphony in three of the Bach Brandenburg Concertos; and Paul Yancich is the timpanist in Fischer’s Concerto for 8 Obbligato Timpani in Cleveland. Friday… Prairie Performances with Roger Cooper".

WEEK OF DECEMBER 9 –10 – 11 – 12 – 13, 2013

Monday December 9: Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra (#13-09)

Edo de Waart, conductor; *Nadja Salerno-Sonnerberg, violin

 Harry T. BURLEIGH: Go Down Moses

BEETHOVEN: Leonore Overture No. 3

Jennifer HIGDON (b. Brooklyn, 1961):  Blue Cathedral

*BRUCH: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 26


DVORAK: Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, “New World”

DVORAK arr. FISHER: Going Home

DVORAK: Slavonic Dance, Op. 72, No. 2

Tuesday December 10:  Chicago Symphony Orchestra (#13-44)

Vasily Petrenko, conductor; *Robert Chen, violin

ELGAR: Cockaigne Overture

*BARBER: Violin Concerto, Op. 14

SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 10 in E Minor, Op. 53

[CSO fill: BACH arr. Eric CREES: Passacaglia & Fugue in C Minor, BWV 582. CSO Brass]

Wednesday December 11:  San Francisco Symphony (#13-25)

Jane Glover, conductor; soloists in “Brandenburgs”: Nadya Tichman, violin; Jonathan Vinocour, viola; Yun Jie Liu, viola; Barbara Bogatin, viola da gamba;

Marie Dalby Szuts, viola da gamba; Robin McKee, flute; Jonathan D. Fischer, oboe; John Thiessen, trumpet

HANDEL: Water Music Suite No. 3 in G Major

BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048

BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F Major, BWV 1047

BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 in B-Flat Major, BWV 1051

HANDEL: Royal Fireworks Music

[SFS Encores: C. P. E. BACH: Symphony in G Major, H. 666 (Ton Koopman, conductor)

BACH: Orchestral Suite No. 4 in D Major, BWV 1069 (Bernard Labadie, conductor)]

Thursday December 12: Cleveland Orchestra (#13-24)

Ton Koopman, conductor; *Paul Yancich, timpani
MOZART: Symphony No. 1 in E-flat Major, K.16
*Johan Carl Christian FISCHER (orig. attrib. to HERTEL) (1733-1800): Symphony with Eight Obbligato Timpani

MOZART: Symphony No. 17 in G, K. 129

REBEL: The Elements: Overture – Chaos

HAYDN: Symphony No. 45 in F Sharp Minor, “Farewell”

[COR fill: BERNSTEIN: Symphony No. 1 “Jeremiah”. Kelly O’Connor, mezzo-soprano; Cleveland Orchestra/Franz Welser-Moest)]

Friday December 13: Prairie Performances with Roger Cooper (per Patterns listing)

University of Illinois Symphony Orchestra (10/20/13)

Donald Schleicher, conductor; *Sung Hee Shin, violin