Evening Concert

Martha Argerich plays Prokofiev’s “3rd Piano Concerto” on the “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s “Carnegie Hall Live!”.  Martha Argerich is the soloist in Prokofiev’s “3rd Piano Concerto” with the Orchestra of the National Academy of Santa Cecilia led by Antonio Pappano.  Also on the program music by Verdi, Ravel, and Respighi.

Thursday August 1: Carnegie Hall Live! (CHL 19-05)

Martha Argerich and Rome’s Santa Cecilia Orchestra

This episode of Carnegie Hall Live features the Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, under the direction of Antonio Pappano, performing quintessentially Italian works by Giuseppe Verdi and Ottorino Respighi. The program also includes Argentine pianist Martha Argerich leading Prokofiev's Third Piano Concerto, a personal favorite of hers. This was Argerich's first Carnegie appearance in nearly a decade.

VERDI: Sinfonia from Aida
PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No. 3
RAVEL: Little Ugly Girl (encore) 
RESPIGHI: Fountains of Rome
RESPIGHI: Pines of Rome
SIBELIUS: Valse Triste (encore)