It’s the first program in a new series of “Carnegie Hall Live!” broadcasts on the “Evening Concert”

July 04, 2019

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the first program in the new “Carnegie Hall Live!” series.  Superstar vocalists Renée Fleming and Audra McDonald join the San Francisco Symphony and Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas for a program of musical theater, opera and orchestral music by Gershwin and Liszt. 

Thursday July 4: Carnegie Hall Live! (CHL 19-01) (First in series)

San Francisco Symphony with Michael Tilson Thomas, Renée Fleming, and Audra McDonald

Gershwin: Cuban Overture; "Summertime" from Porgy and Bess
Villa Lobos: Aria from Bachianas brasileiras No. 5 (arr. Mark Volkert)

Liszt: Mephisto Waltz No. 1

Bock/Harnick: "Vanilla Ice Cream" from She Loves Me

Guettel: "Fable" from The Light in the Piazza

Stephen Sondheim/Rodgers: "Children Will Listen" from Into the Woods / "You've Got To Be Carefully Taught" from South Pacific (arr. Rob Fisher; orch. Bruce Coughlin)

Nyro: “Save the Country” (arr. Michael Tilson Thomas; orch. Bruce Coughlin)

Gershwin: An American in Paris 

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights