Evening Concert

Leonard Slatkin guest conducts the CSO in a program of music by American composers.


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM 90.9 you’ll hear Gershwin’s “An American in Paris” and Barber’s “Overture to the School for Scandal” from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra led by Leonard Slatkin. Also on the program Anne Akiko-Meyers is the soloist in Mason Bates’ “Violin Concerto”.

Tuesday April 4: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 17-14)

Slatkin and Gershwin: An American in Paris

Barber: Overture to The School for Scandal   

William Schuman: Symphony No. 6

Mason Bates (b. 1977): Violin Concerto (Annie Akiko Meyers, violin) Gershwin: An American in Paris

Ives: The Unanswered Question (Susanna Mälkki, conductor; Chris Martin, trumpet)

Ives: Three Places in New England