Evening Concert

Rimsky-Korsakov’s “Scheherazade” on tonight’s “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the “Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast”. Guest conductor Susanna Mälkki leads the group in Rimsky-Korsakov’s “Scheherazade” and Debussy’s Gigues from the “Images for Orchestra”.  Also on the program Bartok’s “2nd Violin Concerto” with soloist Gil Shaham.

Tuesday August 20: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (CSO 19-34)

Susanna Mälkki Conducts Debussy, Bartók, and Rimsky-Korsakov

Debussy: Gigues from Images for Orchestra

Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2 (Gil Shaham, violin)

Rimsky-Korsakov: Sheherazade (Robert Chen, violin)

Thomas Adès (Brit.; b. 1971) …but all shall be well Chicago Symphony Orchestra/Susanna Mälkki Chicago Symphony Orchestra

[CSO fill: Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 47 (excerpt) Chicago Symphony Orchestra/Marin Alsop; Hilary Hahn, violin]