Tchaikovsky’s Pathetique” Symphony and Prokofiev’s “2nd Violin Concerto” on the “Evening Concert”

December 17, 2019

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the “Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast”. You’ll hear Tchaikovsky’s “6th Symphony” the “Pathetique”. Michael Tilson Thomas guest conducts. Also on the program Nicola Benedetti is the soloist in Prokofiev’s “2nd Violin Concerto”.

Tuesday December 17: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (CSO 19-51)

Michael Tilson Thomas and Nicola Benedetti
Stravinsky: Concerto in D for String Orchestra
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 63 (Nicola Benedetti, violin)
Traditional/Limonov: Auld lang syne (encore) (Nicola Benedetti, violin)
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B Minor, Op. 74 (Pathétique)
Ives: IV. Thanksgiving and Forefathers' Day from New England Holidays Symphony (Chicago Symphony Chorus; Margaret Hillis, director)

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights