Evening Concert

Tonight’s ‘Evening Concert” is “A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 the “Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast” is pre-empted so we can bring you a Holiday Special: “A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols” from the chapel of King's College in Cambridge, England. Michael Barone hosts this service of spoken word and music.

Tuesday December 25: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (18-52) pre-empted for Holiday Special

Holiday Special: A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols
Michael Barone hosts this live service of spoken word and music (choral and organ) broadcast from the chapel of King's College in Cambridge, England. The 30-voice King's College Choir performs the legendary Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols service of Biblical readings and music.

The Choir of King’s College, Cambridge Stephen Cleobury, Music Director


Desc. Cleobury: Once in Royal David’s City                            

Piae Cantiones: Up! Up! good Christen folk

Ord: Adam lay ybounden                                                            

Poston  Jesus Christ the Apple Tree

Arr. de Pearsall: In dulci jubilo                                                   

Preston: I saw three ships

Medieval: Nowell sing we now all and some                        

Arr. Willcocks: Unto us is born a son       

Howells: A spotless rose                                                               

Tavener: The Lamb

Arr. Cleobury: Joys seven                                                            

Pärt: Bogoróditse Dyévo

Rutter: What sweeter music?                                                    

Arr. Ledger: Stille Nacht

Darke: In the bleak midwinter                                                   

Desc. Cleobury: While shepherds watched

Weir: O mercy divine (World Premiere)                                

Mathias: Sir Christèmas

Arr. Willcocks: O come, all ye faithful                                      

Desc. Cleobury: Hark! The herald angels sing       

Bach: In dulci jubilo                        

Vierne: Pièces de Fantaisie en quatre suites, Livre II op. 53: Toccata