Muti conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s 5th Symphony on the “Evening Concert”

February 16, 2016

Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on WILL-FM 90.9 it’s the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Maestro Riccardo Muti leads the group in Tchaikovsky’s 5th Symphony and Stravinsky’s “Suite from The Firebird”. Also on the program Mason Bates’ “Anthology of Fantastic Zoology”.

Tuesday February 16: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (16-07) 

Muti conducts Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky, and Bates

Mason Bates (USA, b. 1977): Anthology of Fantastic Zoology [World Premiere, CSO Commission]***

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5   

Stravinsky: Suite from The Firebird

***Based on the book by Luis Borges, the work promises music inspired by fantastic creatures like sprites, nymphs, sirens, banshees and naga—to name only a few.

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights