Evening Concert

Saint-Saens’ “Cello Concerto No.1” plus Russian ballet music on the “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the “Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast”. Gautier Capucon is the soloist in Saint-Saen’s “Cello Concerto No. 1”. Michael Tilson Thomas guest conducts. Also on the program, Prokofiev’s music to the ballet “Romeo and Juliet”, and Stravinsky’s “Scenes de ballet”.

Tuesday July 24: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (CSO 18-30)

Michael Tilson Thomas conducts Prokofiev (Repeat of 17-31)

Stravinsky: Scenes de ballet
Saint-Saens: Cello Concerto No. 1; Gautier Capucon, cello
Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet
R. Strauss: Death and Transfiguration