Evening Concert

Happy Fourth of July: An all-American music program on tonight’s “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on FM 90.9 it’s a “Gershwin Spectacular” from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Bramwell Tovey is the piano soloist in “Rhapsody in Blue”. You’ll also hear “An American in Paris” and music by Sousa, Ives and John Williams.

Tuesday July 4: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 17-27)

A Gershwin Spectacular

Gershwin, arr. Rose: Overture to Strike up the Band

Gershwin, arr. Tovey: A Foggy Day (Bramwell Tovey, piano)

Gershwin, orch. Grofé: Rhapsody in Blue (Bramwell Tovey, piano)

Gershwin: An American in Paris

Sousa: Washington Post March

Anna Clyne (b. 1980 UK; lives USA): Masquerade (Marin Alsop, conductor)

Ives: Three Places in New England (Susanna Mälkki, conductor)

John Williams (b. 1941): Excerpts from Lincoln (John Williams, conductor)