Evening Concert

Elgar’s “1st Symphony, Vaughan Williams’ “Variants” on the “Evening Concert”


Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the “Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast” with a program of English music led by guest conductor Sir Mark Elder. You’ll hear Elgar’s “1st Symphony”. Also on the program Vaughan Williams’ “Five Variants on Dives and Lazarus” and the “Overture to ‘The Wasps’”. 

Tuesday June 11: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (CSO 19-24)

Sir Mark Elder conducts English Music

Vaughan Williams: Overture to The Wasps

Vaughan Williams: Five Variants of Dives and Lazarus

Elgar: Symphony No. 1 in A-flat Major, Op. 55

[CSO fill: Britten: Suite on English Folk Tunes: A time there was..., Op. 90 (Jaap van Zweden, conductor)

Walton: Crown Imperial (CSO Brass; Jay Friedman, conductor)]