Evening Concert

Cellist Alisa Weilerstein plays Prokofiev’s “Symphony-Concerto” with the CSO


Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on WILL-FM 90.9 Alisa Weilerstein is the soloist in Prokofiev’s “Symphony-Concerto for Cello and Orchestra” with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra led by guest conductor Jaap van Zweden. Also on the program Britten’s “Suite on English Folk Tunes” and Shostakovich’s “Ninth Symphony”.

Tuesday June 13: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 17-24)

Jaap van Zweden conducts Shostakovich

Prokofiev: Symphony-Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in E Minor, Op. 125

(Alisa Weilerstein, cello)

Britten: Suite on English Folk Tunes: A time there was. . .

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 9 in E flat Major, Op. 70

Britten: Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia from Peter Grimes