“Riccardo Muti conducts Britten and Higdon” on the “Evening Concert”

May 14, 2019

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the “Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast”. Maestro Riccardo Muti leads the CSO in Britten’s “Four Sea Interludes from ‘Peter Grimes’”. Also on the program Jennifer Higdon’s “Low Brass Concerto”. 

Tuesday May 14: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (CSO 19-20)

Riccardo Muti conducts Britten and Higdon

Stravinsky: Scherzo fantastique, Op. 3

Jennifer Higdon (b. 1962, USA): Low Brass Concerto (Jay Friedman, trombone; Michael Mulcahy, trombone; Charles Vernon, bass trombone; Gene Pokorny, tuba)

Chausson: Poem of Love and the Sea, Op. 19 (Clémentine Margaine, mezzo-soprano)

Britten: Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes, Op. 33a

[CSO fill: Bartók: Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta (Fritz Reiner, conductor)]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights