Sibelius’ “5th Symphony”, Prokofiev’s “1st Violin Concerto” featured on the “Evening Concert”

September 12, 2017

Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on FM 90.9 you’ll hear Sibelius’ “5th Symphony” played by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra led by guest conductor Neeme Jarvi. Also on the program Vadim Gluzman is the soloist in Prokofiev’s “1st Violin Concerto”.

Tuesday September 12: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 17-37)  

Neeme Järvi conducts Sibelius

Glazunov: Concert Waltz No. 1 in D Major, Op. 47

Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 1 in D Major, Op. 19 (Vadim Gluzman, violin)

Sibelius: Suite from Karelia, Op. 11

Sibelius: Symphony No. 5 in E-flat Major, Op. 11

[CSO fill: Mozart: Symphony No. 39 in E-flat Major, K. 543 (Pinchas Zukerman, conductor)]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights