Music by Britten, Stravinsky, Chausson, and Higdon from Chicago on the “Evening Concert”

September 25, 2018

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the “Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast”. You’ll hear Britten’s “Four Sea Interludes from ‘Peter Grimes’”, Stravinsky’s “Scherzo fantastique”, and Chausson’s “Poem of Love and the Sea”.  Riccardo Muti conducts. Also on the program composer-of-our-time Jennifer Higdon’s “Low Brass Concerto”.  

Tuesday September 25: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (CSO 18-39)

Riccardo Muti conducts Higdon and Britten

Stravinsky: Scherzo fantastique, Op. 3

Higdon: Low Brass Concerto (Jay Friedman, trombone; Michael Mulcahy, trombone; Charles Vernon, bass trombone; Gene Pokorny, tuba)

Chausson: Poem of Love and the Sea, Op. 19 (Clémentine Margaine, mezzo-soprano)

Britten: Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes, Op. 33a

[CSO fill: Bartók: Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta (Fritz Reiner, conductor)]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights