Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto plus Tchaikovsky’s “Pathetique” Symphony on the “Evening Concert”

September 05, 2017

Tonight at 7:00 on the Evening Concert on FM 90.9 Paul Lewis is the pianist in Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra led by guest conductor Christoph von Dohnanyi.  Also on the program, Tchaikovsky’s “Pathetique” Symphony.

Tuesday September 5: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 17-36)

Christoph von Dohnányi and Paul Lewis

Lutoslawski: Musique funébre

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 37

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B Minor, Op. 74 (Pathétique)

[CSO fill: Mussorgsky, orch. Shostakovich: Two Excerpts from Khovanschina (Kirill Petrenko, conductor)]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights