From Pittsburgh Tchaikovsky’s “Winter Dreams” Symphony on the “Evening Concert”

February 20, 2019

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. Pablo Heras-Casado guest conducts the PSO in Tchaikovsky’s “Winter Dreams” Symphony’. Also on the program Shostakovich’s “1st Cello Concerto” with soloist Maximilian Hornung. 

Wednesday February 20: Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra (PSO 18-19_08)

Pablo Heras-Casado, conductor; Maximilian Hornung, cello

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s “Capriccio Espagnol;”       

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1;

[Fill: Charlie Chaplin’s “Limelight;” Maximillian Hornung, cello; Milana Chernyavska, piano];

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 1; “Winter Dreams;”

[Fill: Farinelli’s “Baile de las Mascaras; Pablo Heras-Casado, conductor]

[Fill: excerpt from Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s “March Slave”; William Steinberg, conductor]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights

Illinois Country

View the web-exclusive series Voices of Illinois Country today 

Watch now

Stream new PBS content anytime, anywhere

WILL Passport

Get caught up on past seasons before the Sept. premiere