Another “You Never Know What You’ll Hear” program from the San Francisco Symphony

May 01, 2019

Tonight at 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on FM 90.9 it’s the San Francisco Symphony led by Michael Tilson Thomas in Bartok’s “Concerto for Orchestra” and John Cage’s “The Seasons”.  Also on the program Jeffrey Anderson is the tuba soloist in Holloway’s “Europa and the Bull”.

Wednesday May 1: San Francisco Symphony (SFS 19-05)

CONDUCTOR:  Michael Tilson Thomas; SOLOIST: Jeffrey Anderson, tuba*

John Cage: The Seasons; 

Robin Holloway (b. England, 1934): Europa and the Bull, Op. 121* (2014)
Bela Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra

[SFS fill: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings Michael Tilson Thomas]

Classical 24 Music Playlist

Illinois Arts Council Agency logo

These programs are partially sponsored by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

WILL Highlights