Evening Concert

Music of Richard Strauss and Sant-Saens on an Archival Concert “In Memory: Lorin Maazel”


Tonight on 7:00 on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM 90.9 Mstislav Rostropovich is the cellist in Saint-Saens 1st Cello Concerto with the Cleveland Orchestra from an Archival Concert “In Honor of Lorin Maazel” the “Orchestra’s” former music director who passed in 2014.  Also on the program, Strauss’ “Til Eulenspiegel’’s Merry Pranks.

Wednesday November 16: Cleveland Orchestra (CO) (16-21)

Archival (03/25/75) concert in honor of Lorin Maazel

Lorin Maazel, conductor; Mstislav Rostropovich, cello
ROSSINI: “La gazza ladra” Overture
HAYDN: Cello Concerto in C major
SAINT-SAENS: Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33
BACH: Sarabande (encore)
STRAUSS, R.: “Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks”