Evening Concert

Music of Shostakovich, Bruckner and others on this week’s “Evening Concerts”


WILL-FM: The Evening Concert: WEEK OF MAR 8 – 9 – 10 – 11 & 14, 2021


Monday March 8: The New York Philharmonic This Week! (NYP 21-24)

The program differs from the one listed in Patterns Magazine per NYP change.

Bernstein and Masur

Conductors: Leonard Bernstein; Kurt Masur (Mussorgsky; Kancheli)

MUSSORGSKY/ RIMSKY‐KORSAKOV: Khovanshchina: Prelude: Dawn on the Moskva River KANCHELI: “And Farewell Goes Out Sighing...”. Gidon Kremer, vln.; Derek Ragain, counter-tenor

BORODIN: In the Steppes of Central Asia

SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 7 in C, “Leningrad”


Tuesday, March 9: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Radio Broadcast (CSO 21-11)

Muti Conducts Schumann & Mussorgsky

Conductor: Riccardo Muti

Dvořák: Husitská Overture, Op. 67

Schumann: Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129 (John Sharp, cello)

Hindemith: Concert for Music for Strings and Brass, Op. 50

Mussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures from an Exhibition

Catalani: Contemplazione


Wednesday, March 10: Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra (MSO 20-10)

CONDUCTOR: Ken-David Masur

SOLOIST(S): Sergei Babayan, piano

Shostakovich: Festive Overture, Opus 96

Prokofiev: Concerto No. 3 in C major for Piano and Orchestra, Opus 26

Schnittke: (K)ein Sommernachtstraum ((Not) a Midsummer Night’s Dream)

Mussorgsky/ Orch. Gorchakov Pictures at an Exhibition

[MSO fill: Shostakovich: Symphony No. 1 in F minor (Excerpt). MSO/Francesco Lecce-Chong]


Thursday March 11: Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra (PSO 20-21_10)

Manfred Honeck, conductor; The Tallis Scholars; Peter Phillips, director

VICTORIA: Three Motet’s for Chorus : Dum complerentur dies Pentecostes; Ave Maria; Versa est in luctum

BRUCKNER: Two Motets: Locus iste; Ave Maria

ALLEGRI: Miserere Mei, Deus for Double Chorus

BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 4, “Romantic”


Sunday March 14: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 21-25)

Ingenuity for the Ages

Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Cello

Paul Huang, Violin; Clive Greensmith, Cello    

Beethoven: Trio in D major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 70, No. 1, “Ghost”

Michael Brown, Piano; Bella Hristova, Violin; Nicholas Canellakis, Cello


Early Music With Sara Schneider (EMN 20-38)  

Charpentier in Italy

Marc-Antoine Charpentier (1643-1704) was the only composer of his generation to travel from France to Italy, which he later called "the true source" of musical innovation. Ensemble Correspondances, directed by Sébastien Daucé, imagines Charpentier's musical discoveries on his journey through Italy in their stunning new release for Harmonia Mundi.

Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Sub tuum praesidium. Ensemble Correspondances/Sébastien Daucé
Maurizio Cazzati: Salve caput sacrosantum. Ensemble Correspondances/Sébastien Daucé
Tarquinio Merula: Credidi propter quod. Ensemble Correspondances/Sébastien Daucé; Nicolas Brooymans, bass
Francesco Cavalli: Sonata a 12 in d minor. Ensemble Correspondances/Sébastien Daucé
Francesco Beretta: Missa Mirabiles elations Maris. Ensemble Correspondances/Sébastien Daucé
Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Mass for four choirs Ensemble Correspondances/Sébastien Daucé