Evening Concert

Sibelius’ “Violin Concerto”, Weber’s “1st Clarinet Concerto”, and more on the Evening Concert.


This week on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM 90.9 you’ll hear Sibelius’ “Violin Concerto” from Shanghai, Franck’s “Symphonic Variations” from  Chicago, Weber’s “1st Clarinet Concerto” from Pittsburgh, Mozart’s “Sinfonia Concertante” from the New York Philharmonic and Sunday . . . chamber music from Lincoln Center and the Spoleto Chamber Music Festival.

WILL-FM: The Evening Concert: WEEK OF AUG 8 – 9 – 10 – 11 – 12 & 14, 2016


Monday August 8: Shanghai Spring [International Music Festival] (SSF 15-01)( of 8)

Shanghai: Center of the Universe

Huang Yijun: Beautiful Flower and Full Moon; Shanghai Symphony Orchestra/Huo Runyu

Lu Qimin: Ode to the Red Flag; Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra/Zhang Liang

Bizet, Georges: Carmen Fantasy; Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra/Zhang Liang; Wang Zhijong, violin

Rossini, Gioacchino: “Largo al Factotum” from “The Barber of Seville”; Bamberg Symphony Orchestra/Nott Jonathan; LiaoChangyong, baritone

Zhang, Chao: Chinese Dream; Shanghai P.O./Zhang Liang; Sun Yingdi,piano

Wang, Aikang: Booming Jiangnan; The Chinese Music Orchestra of Jiangsu Province/Wang Aikang

Xu, Shuya: Paysage d’hiver; St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra/Dmitriev Alexander; Wang Liang, oboe

Sibelius, Jean: Violin Concerto; St.Petersburg S.O./Dimitriev Alexander; Wang Zhijong, violin


Tuesday August 9: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 16-32)

Dutoit conducts Ravel

Ravel: Rapsodie espagnole

D'Indy: Symphony on a French Mountain Air (Louis Lortie, piano)

Franck: Symphonic Variations (Louis Lortie, piano).    

Ravel: Suite No. 2 from Daphnis et Chloe
[CSO fill Berlioz: Les nuit d’été (Susan Graham, mezzo-soprano) - conducted by Pierre Boulez]


Wednesday August 10: Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra (PSO) 15-16_11)

SUPPE: Overture to “A Morning, Noon, and Night in Vienna”

ZIEHRER: “Viennese Maiden” Waltz

WEBER: Clarinet Concerto No. 1 (Michael Rusinek, clarinet)

ZIEHRER: “Step Right In” Waltz    

R. STRAUSS: Suite from the Ballet “Whipped Cream”

ROSSINI: Introduction, Theme and Variations for Clarinet and Orchestra (Michael Rusinek, clarinet)           

STRAUSS, JR: “New ‘Pizzacato Polka’”    

SCHONHERR: “Drive in the Prater Park” Galop

STRAUSS, JOSEF: “Feuerfest” Polka    

STRAUSS, JOH., SR.: “Radetky March”

[PSO fill: STRAUSS, Johann & Josef: “Pizzacato Polka”;

STRAUSS, JR.: “Tritsch-Tratsch” Polka]

Manfred Honeck, conductor


Thursday August 11: The New York Philharmonic This Week” (NYP 16-46)

Van Zweden, Staples, and Phelps perform Mozart and Shostakovich

CONDUCTOR: Jaap van Zweden, conductor; **Sheryl Staples, violin; Cynthia Phelps, viola

**MOZART: Sinfonia concertante, K.364/320d;    

SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 8


Friday August 12: Prairie Performances with Roger Cooper (PP 16-33) Subject to availability

Millikin-Decatur Symphony Orchestra; Michael Luxner, conductor (4/16/16)

Ives: The Unanswered Question;     Coplandp: Suite from “Appalachian Spring”

Gershwin arr. Robert Russell Bennett: The Porgy and Bess Concert; Janice Chandler-Eteme, soprano; Leon Williams, baritone


Sunday August 14: Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 15-46)

20th Century Masters

Bartók: Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion; Wu Han, Gilbert Kalish, piano; Daniel Druckman, Ayano Kataoka, percussion

Shostakovich: Trio No. 2 in E minor for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 67 Alessio Bax, piano; Ani Kavafian, violin; Jakob Koranyi, cello


Spoleto Chamber Music Festival (SCM 16-07)

Haydn:             String Quartet in G Minor, Op. 20, No. 3; St. Lawrence String Quartet

Dowland: “In Darkness Let me Dwell” and “Come Again, Sweet Love Doth Now Invite”;
Tyler Duncan, baritone; Kevin Payne, lute

August Klughardt (1847-1902): 5 Schilflieder for Oboe, Viola, and Piano, Op. 28; 
I.    “Langsam, träumerisch”
II.   “Leidenschaftlich erregt”    

III.  “Zart, in ruhiger Bewegung”
James Austin Smith, oboe; Daniel Phillips, viola; Pedja Muzijevic, piano

Osvaldo Golijov (b. 1960): “Omaramor” for Solo Cello (Oswaldo); Alisa Weilerstein, cello