Evening Concert

Music by Gershwin, Lalo, Holst, Beethoven, and more on this week’s “Evening Concert”


This week on the “Evening Concert” on WILL-FM 90.9 you’ll hear Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” from Shanghai, Lalo’s “Cello Concerto” from Chicago, Holst’s “The Planets” from Dallas, “The New York Philharmonic This Week” and Sunday. . . chamber music from Lincoln Center and a new series “Shanghai Spring”.  

WILL-FM: The Evening Concert: WEEK OF JAN 30 – 31 – 1 – 2 & 5, 2017


Monday January 30: Shanghai Symphony Orchestra (SSO 17-05 of 13)

[First ever broadcast series of a Chinese orchestra to U.S. radio audiences]

AUDIO QUALITY ADVISORY: The concert recordings of a limited number of works in this series contain brief instances of audio distortion.

CONDUCTOR: Zhang Jie Min – Dvorak; Paavo Järvi – Smetana; Long Yu - Gershwin

Dvorak: Carnival Overture, Op.92

Smetana: Má Vlast

Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue SOLOIST: Yujia Wang (piano)

Program also includes a Gershwin medley performed by organist Cameron Carpenter,

and a highlight from the Shanghai Orchestra Academy:

Bernstein/ McGuinness: “One Hand One Heart” from West Side Story


Tuesday January 31: Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO 17-05)

Yo-Yo Ma plays Lalo and Saint-Saëns

Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales (Charles Dutoit, conductor)

Debussy: Symphonic Fragments from The Martyrdom of St. Sebastian sentimentales (Charles Dutoit, conductor)

Saint-Saëns: La muse et le poète, Op. 132 (Robert Chen, violin; Yo-Yo Ma, cello; Charles Dutoit, conductor)

Lalo: Cello Concerto in D Minor (Yo-Yo Ma, cello; Charles Dutoit, conductor)

Debussy: Prelude to The Afternoon of a Faun (Christian Macelaru, conductor)


Wednesday February 1: Dallas Symphony Orchestra (DSO 17-05 of 13)

CONDUCTOR: Simone Young;  SOLOIST: Karen Gomyo, violin

PFITZNER: Palestrina Prelude

Philip GLASS: Violin Concerto

HOLST: The Planets  


Thursday February 2: “The New York Philharmonic This Week” (NYP 17-19)

CONDUCTOR: Alan Gilbert;  *Sheryl Staples, Michelle Kim, Marc Ginsburg, Lisa Kim, violins

*VIVALDI: Concerto in B minor for Four Violins, Op. 3, No. 10 (RV 580)

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 8;  BERG: Violin Concerto;  Frank-Peter Zimmermann, violin

BRAHMS: Symphony No. 4 in e-minor


Sunday February 5: Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS 16-19)  

American Visions

Gottschalk: The Union, Concert Paraphrase on National Airs for Piano, Op. 48

Gilles Vonsattel, Piano

Ives: “The Things Our Fathers Loved” for Voice and Piano (ATH)

Ives: “Charlie Rutlage” for Voice and Piano (ATH)

Ives: “The Indians” for Voice and Piano (ATH)

Ives: “The Housatonic at Stockbridge” for Voice and Piano (ATH)

Ives: “The Circus Band” for Voice and Piano (ATH)

Randall Scarlata, Baritone; Gilbert Kalish, Piano

Rzewski: “Winnsboro Cotton Mill Blues” from Four North American Ballads for Piano Gilles Vonsattel, Piano

Ellington: Clarinet Lament for Clarinet and Piano

David Shifrin, Clarinet; Gloria Chien, Piano

Gershwin: An American in Paris for Two Pianos

Alessio Bax, Robert Spano, Piano



Shanghai Spring (17-01) New Series (4 Episodes)

About the host Conrad Tao: Tao was born in Urbana, Illinois, in 1994. He has studied piano with Emilio del Rosario in Chicago and Yoheved Kaplinsky in New York, and composition with Christopher Theofanidis. He has appeared worldwide as a pianist and composer, and has been dubbed a musician of “probing intellect” and a “thoughtful and mature composer” by NPR. In 2011 he was named both a Presidential Scholar in the Arts, and a Gilmore Young Artist. In 2012 he was awarded the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant. Tao's career as composer has garnered eight consecutive ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Awards and the Carlos Surinach Prize from BMI.

Zhao Jiping: Symphony No.1, Movement 3

Shanghai Conservatory of Music Symphony Orchestra and Chorus, Daye Lin (conductor)

Zang Heng: Guqin Concerto Open and Inclusive

Young Chinese Traditional Orchestra, Wu Qiang (conductor), Wu Wenyi (guqin)

Zhao Jiping: Selections from Courtyard of Qiao Family

Shanghai Conservatory of Music Symphony Orchestra, Daye Lin (conductor), Qiong Fang (soprano), Duan Aiai (erhu)

Trad: Turpan Muqam Muqam Art Troupe